Where the gods go on vacation 

Cyprus 

Your next summer vacation

Dream island Cyprus 

Cyprus is the third largest island in the Mediterranean after Sicily and Sardinia and is located in the eastern Mediterranean.

Most famous for beach holidays is the south coast of Cyprus with the most famous places Ayia Napa and Protaras. This is mainly due to the beautiful sandy beaches and crystal clear water, as you otherwise only find in the Caribbean.

 

Weather and climate

The climate in Cyprus is Mediterranean. The south coast in particular is very sunny and dry. In midsummer, temperatures reach 30 ° C to 35 ° C. The bathing and diving season begins in mid-April when the sea warms up to 20 ° C.

 

Around Agia Napa there are endless, white sandy beaches that slope very gently towards the water. And don't worry: even in dry August, a fresh breeze usually curbs the hot-blooded temper of the sun on the coast. However, if you travel inland, you have to be prepared for extreme temperatures, which are sometimes over 40 degrees!

 

In October you experience the big, extremely positive surprise: the air often warms up to 27 degrees and the water temperatures of the eastern Mediterranean are almost reminiscent of the bathtub at home. Only at the end of October and beginning of November do the rainy days noticeably increase and the sun lose its strength.

Snow and ice often cover the summits of the Trodos Mountains in winter, where you can even go skiing. Four mini drag lifts are located on Mount Olympos, the highest mountain in Cyprus at 1,952 m. In the valley, however, it is mild and mostly sunny. However, if you want to cheat the cold of Germany in January or February, you will only be partially happy in Cyprus.

 

Security and Crime in Cyprus

Some people suspect that due to its geographical location, similar to its neighboring countries, Cyprus is affected by relatively high levels of crime & poverty. Exactly the opposite is the case. There is little crime in Cyprus!

From a political point of view, too, Cyprus is one of the safest countries in the world and one of the best places in the international crime ranking. It is not for nothing that Cyprus had an absolute record year in 2017 with over 3.5 million holidaymakers! In a 2015 study, Cyprus was ranked 5th among the 106 safest countries in the world and 1st among countries with less than 5 million inhabitants.

 

From my own experience, I can also confirm that a woman traveling alone does not have to worry and the Cypriot men treat women with decency and respect. However, in Cyprus, as everywhere else in the world, it is certainly an advantage if one behaves accordingly and dresses properly.

 

Withdraw money in Cyprus

The official national currency in the Republic of Cyprus has been the euro since 2008, which replaced the old currency, the Cyprus pound.

In order to be able to enjoy the vacation in Cyprus without nasty surprises, the usual security precautions, which are actually taken for granted when dealing with EC or credit cards, must not be neglected in favor of the vacation feeling.

 

All major credit cards such as Visa or MasterCard are accepted for withdrawing money from ATMs in Cyprus. In the larger cities such as Larnaca, Limassol, Protaras and Ayia Nappa, it is easy to top up the travel budget with cash. There are a sufficient number of ATMs at which you can withdraw money. However, if you are going to the more rural regions of Cyprus, you should already have enough cash on hand.

 

DSC_0223.JPG

love bridge, Ayia Napa

Ayia Napa - Not just for the young

 

Ayia Napa (also often spelled Agia Napa) is known for clubs, bars and beach parties. In the high season from July to September, thousands of young tourists flock to downtown Agia Napa and the most famous beaches such as Nissi Beach.

In the evening there is a large selection of clubs and bars. The club scene mainly focuses on a street in the heart of Agia Napa, where you can find the Swiss ZicZac Bar (of course also accessible to non-Swiss :-)). Other well-known clubs are for example Crazy Frog, Castle Club, or Pirats.

 

But Agia Napa also has a lot to offer for families. The wide, gently sloping sandy beaches and the turquoise blue water invite you to swim and relax. In addition to the well-frequented beaches such as Nissi Beach, you can still find quieter beaches where you can just relax.

 

In any case, there is no boredom. In Ayia Napag there are countless leisure activities such as the water park, quad biking, an amusement park and of course Dive with us .

 

Restaurants in Ayia Napa

Taverna Napa - One of the oldest restaurants in Ayia Napa. A MEZE is definitely worth it here!

Kota Restaurant - Great restaurant with a great atmosphere and great Cypriot food.

Al Tritrovo Italian Restaurant - Great Italian Restaurant

Red Ruby - Everything from Indian, Thai to Chinese.

 

 

 

 

path-4673839_1280.jpg

Promenade, Ayia Napa/Protaras

Family vacation in Protaras and Pernera

 

If the party life in Ayia Napa is a bit too much for you, the best place to come is Protaras or Pernera. The city is located near Agia Napa on the east coast of Cyprus and is an extremely modern resort. The beach with its clear water is nice and shallow and has practically no waves, which makes it perfect for a family vacation with children. The hotels have a very high standard of cleanliness and quality and you always feel welcome here.

 

The landscape here is very unique and offers many opportunities for hiking and discovering. Above all, there are the many windmills that were used to pump up groundwater in the past. In the middle between Ayia Napa and Protaras is the Cape Greko National Park with its beautiful hiking trails and bays that invite you to swim.

 

 

 

01_home.jpg

Underwater world Cyprus

Explore the underwater world from Cyprus!

Urlaub am Mittelmeer

Zypern

Dein nächster Sommerurlaub

Trauminsel Zypern - Wo auch die Götter Urlaub machen

Zypern ist die Drittgrösste Insel im Mittelmeer hinter Sizilien und Sardinien und liegt im östlichen Mittelmeer.

Am bekanntesten für Badeurlaub ist vor allem die Südküste von Zypern mit den bekanntesten Orten Ayia Napa und Protaras. Dies liegt wohl vor allem an den wunderschönen Sandstränden und dem kristallklaren Wasser, wie man es sonst nur in der Karibik findet.

Wetter und Klima

Das Klima auf Zypern ist mediterran. Sehr sonnig und trocken ist vor allem die Südküste. Im Hochsommer erreichen die Temperaturen 30°C bis 35°C. Die Bade- und Tauchsaison beginnt Mitte April, wenn sich das Meer auf 20°C erwärmt.

 

Rund um Agia Napa locken endlose, weiße Sandstrände, die sehr flach zum Wasser hin abfallen. Und keine Angst: Selbst im trockenen August zügelt an der Küste meist eine frische Brise das heißblütige Temperament der Sonne. Wer ins Landesinnere reist, muss sich jedoch auf Extremtemperaturen einstellen, die manchmal über 40 Grad liegen!

Im Oktober erlebt man dann die große, ausgesprochen positive Überraschung: Bis 27 Grad erwärmt sich oft noch die Luft und die Wassertemperaturen des östlichen Mittelmeers erinnern fast ein wenig an die heimische Badewanne. Erst Ende Oktober, Anfang November nehmen die Regentage dann spürbar zu und die Sonne verliert an Kraft.

Schnee und Eis überziehen im Winter nicht selten die Gipfel der Trodos-Berge, wo man dann sogar Skifahren kann. Vier Mini-Schleppliften befinden sich am Mount Olympos, dem mit 1.952 m höchsten Berg Zyperns. Im Tal ist es hingegen mild und meist auch sonnig. Wer jedoch im Januar oder Februar der Kälte Deutschlands ein Schnippchen schlagen möchte, wird auf Zypern nur bedingt glücklich. 

Sicherheit und Kriminalität auf Zypern

Einige Menschen vermuten, dass Zypern aufgrund seiner geografischen Lage ähnlich seinen Nachbarländern von relativ hoher Kriminalität & Armut betroffen sei. Genau das Gegenteil ist der Fall. In Zypern gibt es nur wenig Kriminalität!

Zypern gilt, auch aus politischer Sicht heraus betrachtet, als einer der sichersten Staaten der Welt und belegt im internationalen Kriminalitätsranking einen der besten Plätze. Nicht umsonst hatte Zypern 2017 ein absolutes Rekordjahr mit über 3,5 Millionen Urlaubern! In einer Studie aus 2015 kam Zypern auf Platz 5 unter den 106 sichersten Ländern der Welt und Platz 1 unter den Ländern, die unter 5 Mio Einwohnern haben.

Aus eigener Erfahrung kann ich auch bestätigen, dass man auch als Alleinreisende Frau keine Bedenken haben muss und die zypriotischen Männer die Frauen mit Anstand und Respekt behandeln. Sicherlich ist es jedoch auch in Zypern wie überall auf der Welt von Vorteil, wenn man sich selbst auch dementsprechend verhält und sich auch anständig kleidet.

Geld abheben auf Zypern

Die offizielle Landeswährung in der Republik Zypern ist seit 2008 der Euro, der die alte Währung, das Zypern-Pfund, abgelöst hat.

Um den Urlaub auf Zypern ohne böse Überraschungen geniessen zu können, dürfen auch hier die gängigen Sicherheitsvorkehrungen, die im Umgang mit EC- oder Kreditkarte eigentlich selbstverständlich sind, nicht zugunsten der Urlaubsgefühle vernachlässigt werden.

Alle gängigen Kreditkarten wie Visa oder MasterCard werden von den Geldautomaten auf Zypern zum Geld abheben akzeptiert. In den grösseren Städten wie Larnaca, Limassol, Protaras und Ayia Nappa ist es einfach, die Reisekasse mit Bargeld aufzufüllen. Dort stehen Geldautomaten, an denen man Geld abheben kann, in ausreichender Anzahl zu Verfügung. Geht die Reise jedoch in die ländlicheren Regionen Zyperns, sollte man vorab bereits mit ausreichend Bargeld eingedeckt sein.

DSC_0223.JPG

Love Bridge, Agia Napa

Ayia Napa - Nicht nur für die Jungen

Ayia Napa (Auch oft Agia Napa geschrieben) ist bekannt für Clubs, Bars und Beachparty's. In der Hochsaison von Juli bis September strömen tausende von jungen Touristen in die Innenstadt von Agia Napa und an die bekanntesten Strände wie der Nissi Beach.

Am Abend findet man eine grosse Auswahl an Clubs und Bars. Die Clubszene konzentriert sich hauptsächlich auf eine Strasse im Herzen von Agia Napa, wo man unter anderem die Schweizer ZicZac Bar findet (Natürlich auch zugänglich für Nicht-Schweizer :-)). Weitere bekannte Clubs sind zum Beispiel Crazy Frog, Castle Club, oder Pirats. 

Doch auch für Familien hat Agia Napa einiges zu bieten. Die breit, flach abfallenden Sandstrände und das Türkisblaue Wasser laden zum Baden und entspannen ein. Neben den gut besuchten Stränden wie der Nissi Beach, findet man auch nach wie vor eher ruhigere Strände wo man einfach entspannen kann.

Langeweile kommt auf jeden Fall nicht auf. In Ayia Napag gibt es unzählige Freizeitaktivitäten wie der Wasserpark, Quad fahren, ein Vergnügungspark und natürlich Tauchen mit uns

Restaurants in Ayia Napa

Taverna Napa - Eines der ältesten Restaurants in Ayia Napa. Hier lohnt sich auf jeden Fall ein MEZE!

Kota Restaurant - Tolles Restaurant mit einer super atmosphäre und tollem zypriotischen Essen.

Al Tritrovo Italian Restaurant - Tolles Italienisches Restaurant

Red Ruby - Alles von Indisch, Thai bis hin zu Chinesisch.

path-4673839_1280.jpg

Promenade, Agia Napa/Protaras

Familienurlaub in Protaras und Pernera

Wem das Partyleben in Ayia Napa etwas zu viel ist, der kommt am besten nach Protaras oder Pernera. Die Stadt liegt in der Nähe von Agia Napa an der Ostküste von Zypern und ist ein äusserst moderner Ferienort. Der Strand mit seinem klaren Wasser ist schön flach und hat praktisch keine Wellen, was ihn perfekt für einen Familienurlaub mit Kindern macht. Die Hotels haben einen sehr hohen Standard an Sauberkeit und Qualität und man fühlt sich hier einfach immer willkommen. 

Die Landschaft hier ist sehr einzigartig und bietet viele Möglichkeiten zum Wandern und entdecken. Vor allem fallen hier die vielen Windmühlen auf, mit denen früher Grundwasser hochgepumpt wurde. In der Mitte zwischen Ayia Napa und Protaras liegt der Kap Greko Nationalpark mit seinen wunderschönen Wanderpfaden und Buchten die zum Baden einladen. 

01_home.jpg

Unterwasserwelt Zypern. 

Entdecke was die zypriotische Unterwasserwelt zu bieten hat!