P8010103_edited.jpg

to rediscover:

Underwater museum

something else

Visit the underwater sculptures of  Ayia Napa

 

Since August 1st, 2021, the only underwater museum in the east of the Mediterranean invites you to dive. A thoughtful sculpture park was designed and sunk by Jason deCaires Taylor.  With his socially critical works, the artist conveys messages about the protection of the marine ecosystem. The animal population in the Mediterranean has been endangered for years. With his exhibition, deCaires Taylor wants to present the sea again as a place of gentle coexistence.

In recent months we have seen the underwater world welcoming the museum. Algae have grown on the artificial trees and kelp sculptures and small schools of fish have taken residence. Crayfish and cuttlefish are also more and more common. We are curious to see how the underwater museum will present itself after the winter break.  

 

The sculptures were installed at a depth of 8 - 10 meters and are therefore also suitable for beginners, but a diving license is required for the protection of the museum. However, the museum can also be explored while snorkeling or freediving.

 

We reach the museum from the old port of Ayia Napa by boat and the dive lasts about 45 minutes.

03.2_owd_course.jpg

Open Water Diver

Start your diving career with the PADI Open Water Dive course and

dive further into the breathtaking underwater world.

P8010103_edited.jpg

neu zu entdecken:

Unterwassermuseum

mal was anderes

Besuche die Unterwasserskulpturen von Ayia Napa

 

Seit dem 1. August 2021 lädt das einzige Unterwassermuseum im Osten des Mittelmeeres zum tauchen ein. Von Jason deCaires Taylor wurde ein durchdachter Skulpturen-Park entworfen und versenkt. Der Künstler vermittelt mit seinen gesellschaftskritischen Werken Botschaften über den Schutz des Ökosystems Meer. Der Tierbestand im Mittelmeer ist seit Jahren gefährdet, deCaires Taylor will mit seiner Ausstellung das Meer wieder als Ort des sanften Miteinanders darstellen.

In den letzten Monaten konnten wir beobachten, das die Unterwasserwelt das Museum willkommen heisst. An den künstlichen Bäumen und Kelp-Skulpturen haben isch Algen gebildet und kleine Fischschulen haben sich eingenistet. Auch Krebse und Sepien sind immer öfters anzutreffen. Wir sind gespannt, wie sich das Unterwassermuseum nach der Winterpause präsentiert. 

 

Die Skulpturen wurden auf einer Tiefe von 8 - 10 Meter installiert und ist somit auch für Anfänger geeignet, dennoch wird aus Schutz des Museum eine Tauchlizenz benötigt. Jedoch kann das Museum auch beim Schnorcheln oder Apnoetauchen erkundigt werden.

 

Wir erreichen das Museum vom alten Hafen Agia Napa mit dem Boot und der Tauchgang dauert ca. 45 Minuten.

03.2_owd_course.jpg

Open Water Diver

Starte mit dem PADI Open Water Dive Kurs deine Tauchkarriere und

tauche weiter in die atemberaubende Unterwasserwelt ein.