Start your adventure

PADI Open Water Diver

PADI Junior Open Water Diver

Your entry into the fascinating world of diving


The whole world is open to you as a diver. You can dive practically anywhere in the world. No matter whether in Switzerland in a crystal clear mountain lake or in the Maldives with colourful coral reefs or just here in Cyprus with great wrecks and incredible visibility.

 

Your first big step into this world begins with the PADI Open Water Diver course, or if you don't have enough time, with the PADI Scuba Diver course (more information here).

 

With the PADI Open Water Diver course you will learn everything you need to know in 3 to 4 days to dive the most beautiful places in the world. Above all, we attach great importance to making you feel comfortable and safe under water. Of course, we take a lot of time for this and, as with the trial dives, we always pay attention to small groups. And the biggest advantage; we offer our courses in German, English and French.

 

Since we are a small diving school, we can plan your course more flexibly. So if you want a break after 2 days, this is not a problem. We try to adapt your program as best we can so that you can enjoy your vacation.

  • Duration

    3-4 days
  • Price

    from € 450
  • Theory

    Theorie and
    written exam
  • Diving

    4 dives
    max. 18 meters
  • Requirements

    Minimum age
    10 years

The PADI Open Water course consists of three parts:


Part one: Theory. Theory is also part of diving. However, we understand very well how to keep this theory as exciting as possible for you! The theory consists on the one hand of a video divided into 5 chapters and some repetition questions.

Our diving instructors will also discuss the whole theory with you and show you what the theory means using practical examples. At the end you have to pass a theory test with 50 multiple choice questions. But we can promise you: you can do it! :-) There is also the possibility to do the theory in advance in an independent study from home (PADI e-learning). We will then repeat the theory again in the Divecentre and then you can directly complete the exam with us.

 

Part Two: Confined  Water In the PADI Open Water course, we first go to a pool or a dive site in the sea with pool-like conditions. This means: standing water depth, good visibility and enclosed on the sides. Here we learn the first exercises above and under water to prepare you perfectly for your first dive. Here, too, we follow the motto: Learning with joy and fun.

 

Third part: Open water. Now it's off to the sea! There are a total of 4 open water dives in your training. Here you show your instructor the exercises you have learned in the pool and get used to the underwater world. Believe us ... it is an indescribable feeling to swim weightlessly with the fish without having to surface every few seconds to take a breath.

 

The first dive is a very simple and relaxed dive, where it is all about getting used to the new world. After that, every dive comes with additional exercises to make you a safe diver.

 

 

As a certified Open Water Diver you can dive to a maximum depth of 18 meters. Depending on how comfortable you feel on the third or fourth dive, we will dive to a maximum depth of 18 meters to show you this feeling. (Please note that the maximum depth for junior divers is 12 meters).

 

You also have the possibility to do the theory and your pool dives at home and  only the open water dives in the sea with us. Just write us a message about that.

The right one for everyone

Choose your training package

 

You can choose from three different packages with us! Every package always includes transport to and from the hotel (Ayia Napa, Protaras, Pernera region) and equipment. No matter which package you choose, there are no more hidden costs.

 

As a diver, one of your first investments will be your own mask. Here it is important that you are well advised to find a suitable diving mask. We have a large selection of different models. With the right mask, learning to dive is even more fun! Of course, food should never be neglected when diving. Right next to the diving school is the Tipsy Turtle restaurant, where we can have lunch together to start the afternoon refreshed. With our "GOLD PACKAGE" you not only benefit from 10% when buying your own mask, but lunch is also included!

 

If you would like to have your own dive data always in view and therefore want to get your own dive computer, the "PLATINUM PACKAGE" is right for you. the Aqualung i300c is an easy-to-use dive computer that provides you with all the information you need! In addition, we will give you another free dive here!

SILVER PACKAGE

€450.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined water

  • 4 open water dives

  • Registration

 

 

GOLD PACKAGE

€490.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined water

  • 4 open water dives

  • Registration

  • Lunch at Tipsy Turtle (3x)

  • 10% discount when buying a diving mask

PLATINUM PACKAGE

€699.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined water

  • 4 open water dives

  • Registration

  • Lunch at Tipsy Turtle (3x)

  • 20% discount when buying a diving mask

  • 1 Aqualung i300c dive computer

  • 1 Fun Dive for free

More information about the PADI Open Water Diver course

 

We offer our courses in German, English and French. We attach great importance to making you feel comfortable. Because we know it's a big step. Therefore, we always keep our groups as small as possible so that we can take enough time for each one.

How do I get to you?

We include transportation from your hotel in the Pernera, Protaras and Agia Napa region. We will come to pick you up directly at the reception or apartment and of course bring you back again.

What do I learn in theory and is there an exam?
During the theory input, you will learn about the physics of water, equipment, and general theory about diving. To test your knowledge, we will complete each topic with a small quiz and at the end there is a theory test.
But you don't have to be afraid of that :-) The theory is really very exciting and not very complicated.

 

Do I need my own equipment?
No of course not. So you don't need to buy or bring any equipment. However, if you have your own mask, you are welcome to take it with you. We will check beforehand whether it is a diving mask or snorkel mask (yes there are differences). Otherwise we offer you everything you need for your diving adventure in Cyprus. We offer you top equipment that is regularly maintained. The following equipment is required for diving; Diving mask, breathing regulator, life jacket, wet suit, fins and booties, lead and a diving bottle filled with air.
We show you exactly what all this is in theory.

However, we recommend every diver to have at least one mask. We are happy to advise you in our shop.


How deep can I dive as a PADI Open Water Diver?
After your training as a PADI Open Water Diver you can dive with a buddy to a maximum depth of 18 meters. As a PADI Scuba Diver, you have a maximum depth of 12 meters with a diving instructor or guide.

Do we dive from the boat or from the shore?
We are very lucky here in Cyprus that we have dive sites right on the shore. The most famous dive site is the Green Bay in Protaras which is only a few minutes away from us. Here we have a natural pool without waves and currents with standing water depth. We can do our exercises perfectly and slowly dive down from the shore. So we don't jump from a boat into the deep blue and then let us sink straight down. So you can get used to breathing under water.

Why do I actually need a diving license?
Basically, you can dive without a license. This is a so-called trial dive which you can do as often as you like. However, trial diving has some limitations and disadvantages. Basically, trial diving is there to give you the opportunity to try diving without having to start a course directly. When you try out diving, you always have a theoretical introduction, complete certain exercises and go diving with a diving instructor or DSD leader. This also means that trial diving is a greater effort for the diving school and therefore trial diving is often more expensive than regular diving. Another big disadvantage: You can only go to a maximum depth of 12 meters and often as a trial diver you don't go to the really great dive sites. Therefore, training as a PADI Open Water Diver is definitely worth it, so you can go diving with a dive guide or other divers who have a diving education.

Should I go diving alone with a friend after completing my diving training?
Of course, this depends on the experience of your "buddy". In theory, you are licensed as a PADI Open Water Diver to dive alone with a buddy who is at least also licensed as an Open Water Diver. We clearly advise against it. Always make sure that your buddy is at least a PADI Rescue Diver or that he/she already has a few dives in the logbook.

 

Start your PADI diving training online

With the PADI eLearning® system you can start with the theoretical part of the course and work at your own pace. This convenient, interactive learning option allows you to learn anytime, anywhere where you have an internet connection.
With PADI eLearning you can:

 

  • learn by watching, listening, reading and interacting with a dynamic learning program.

 

  • Access the material for a whole year, plus unlimited access to an online version of the respective manual (book) of a course.

 

  • contact your personal PADI instructor at any time with questions about the course content.

 

  • Quickly get into the water and apply what you have learned there - as soon as you meet up with your PADI instructor.

 

 

After completing your eLearning program, you have already completed the theory and can now complete your training as an Open Water Diver at any PADI Divecenter. Since you already have the theory, the diving school will no longer charge you for it. (The prices can vary depending on the diving school.) With us, for example, you only pay € 360 instead of € 470 for your PADI Open Water Diver).

 

Do you have just 2 days?

You're under the age of 15 years?

PADI Scuba Diver

The PADI Scuba Diver is the first part of the PADI OPEN WATER DIVER training. This allows you to dive to a maximum depth of 12 meters accompanied by a professional diver.

In addition, you have already completed the first part of your PADI OPEN WATER DIVER course and can still complete the second half in every PADI diving school.

Thus, this training is ideal to start as a diver in a short amount of time.

PADI Junior Open Water Diver

If you are between 10 and 15 years old, you will receive the PADI JUNIOR OPEN WATER DIVER license.


Basically you have the same training as the PADI OPEN WATER DIVER but at a maximum depth of 12 meters. The JUNIOR OPEN WATER license automatically becomes a PADI OPEN WATER DIVER license when you reach the age of 15.

Information

opening hours

 

Season (April 1st - October 31st)

Monday - Saturday 9 a.m. - 9 p.m.

 

Low season

By appointment

 

Find what you're looking for

Contact

Cyprus Diving Centre

13 Aphrodite Street

5296 Pernera

+357 99 399 404 (Whatsapp)

info@cyprus-divingcentre.com

Starte dein Abenteuer

PADI Open Water Diver 

PADI Junior Open Water Diver

Dein Einstieg in die faszinierende Welt des Tauchens

 

Als Taucher steht dir die ganze Welt offen. Praktisch überall auf dieser Welt kann man tauchen. Egal ob in der Schweiz in einem kristallklaren Bergsee oder auf den Malediven mit bunten Korallenriffen oder eben bei uns auf Zypern mit tollen Wracks und unglaublichen Sichtweiten.

Dein erster grosser Schritt in diese Welt beginnt mit dem PADI Open Water Diver Kurs oder falls du nicht genug Zeit hast mit dem PADI Scuba Diver Kurs (Mehr Infos hier)

Beim PADI Open Water Diver Kurs lernst du bei uns innerhalb von 3 bis 4 Tagen alles, was du wissen musst um die schönsten Plätze dieser Welt zu betauchen. Vor allem legen wir viel Wert darauf, dass du dich unter Wasser wohl und sicher fühlst. Dazu nehmen wir uns natürlich viel Zeit und wie auch beim Schnuppertauchen achten wir immer auf kleine Gruppen. Der wohl grösste Vorteil; Unsere Kurse bieten wir auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch an. 

Da wir eine kleine Tauchschule sind, können wir deinen Kurs auch flexibler planen. Solltest du also nach 2 Tagen eine Pause wollen, ist dies kein Problem. Wir versuchen uns so gut wie Möglich deinem Programm anzupassen, damit du deinen Urlaub auch geniessen kannst.

Sorgenfrei Tauchen buchen

Du brauchst dir keine Sorgen über deine Buchung bei uns zu machen. Für COVID-Bedingte Stornierungen bis 48 Stunden vor deiner Buchung, erheben wir keine Kosten oder Gebühren.

  • Dauer

    3-4 Tage
  • Preis

    ab €450
  • Theorie

    Theorie mit Prüfung
  • Tauchen

    4 Tauchgänge
    max. 18 Meter
  • Voraussetzung

    Ab 10 Jahren
Was erwartet dich

Der PADI Open Water Diver-Kurs besteht aus drei Teilen:

Erster Teil: Theorie. Ja auch Theorie gehört zum Tauchen. Doch glaube uns, die kann ganz schön spannend sein. Aber keine Angst, du wirst deinen Urlaub nicht in einem Theoriesaal verbringen. Dank dem PADI eLearning kannst du, bereits auch schon von zu Hause aus, überall lernen wo du willst. Du hast auch die Möglichkeit, die Theorie runterzuladen und offline zu lernen - also zum Beispiel am Strand. Bei Fragen stehen wir dir jederzeit zur Verfügung. Vor deiner Abschlussprüfung werden wir mit dir nochmals eine kurze Repetition machen um auch die letzten Fragen zu klären.

Sollte eLearning nichts für dich sein, können wir die Theorie jedoch auch gerne in der Tauchschule machen.

 

Zweiter Teil: Begrenztes Freiwasser. Beim PADI Open Water Diver-Kurs gehen wir zuerst in einen Pool oder einen Tauchplatz im Meer mit poolähnlichen Bedingungen. Dies bedeutet: Stehwassertiefe, gute Sicht und an den Seiten begrenzt. Hier lernen wir über und unter Wasser die ersten Übungen, um dich perfekt auf deinen ersten Tauchgang vorzubereiten. Auch hierbei folgen wir unserem Motto: "Lernen mit Freude und Spass". 

 

Dritter Teil: Freiwasser. Nun geht's ins Meer! Insgesamt gibt es in deiner Ausbildung vier Freiwassertauchgänge in deiner Ausbildung. Hier zeigst du deinem Tauchlehrer die Übungen, welche du im Pool gelernt hast und gewöhnst dich an die Unterwasserwelt. Glaube uns: Es ist ein unbeschreibliches Gefühl, schwerelos mit den Fischen zu schwimmen.

Der erste Tauchgang ist immer ganz einfach und entspannt, weil es vor allem darum geht, dich an die neue Welt zu gewöhnen. Danach kommen bei jedem Tauchgang weitere Übungen dazu, um aus dir einen sicheren Taucher zu machen.

Als zertifizierter Open Water Diver darfst du bis zu einer maximalen Tiefe von 18 Metern tauchen. Je nachdem, wie wohl du dich beim dritten oder vierten Tauchgang fühlst, werden wir in eine maximale Tiefe von 18 Metern abtauchen, um dir dieses Gefühl zu zeigen. (Bitte beachte, dass für Junior-Taucher die maximale Tiefe 12 Meter beträgt).

Du hast auch die Möglichkeit, die Theorie sowie deine Pooltauchgänge in deiner Heimat zu machen und bei uns lediglich noch die Freiwassertauchgänge im Meer. In diesem Fall informiere uns bitte per E-Mail.

Für jeden das richtige dabei

Wähle dein Ausbildungspaket

Du kannst bei uns aus drei verschiedenen Paketen auswählen! Bei jedem Paket ist immer der Transport vom und zum Hotel (Region Ayia Napa, Protaras, Pernera) sowie die Ausrüstung inbegriffen. Egal welches Paket du wählst, es kommen keine versteckte Kosten mehr dazu.

Als Taucher wird eine deiner ersten Investition eine eigene Maske sein. Hier ist es wichtig, dass du gut beraten wirst um eine passende Tauchermaske zu finden. Wir haben eine grosse Auswahl von unterschiedlichen Modellen. Mit der richtigen Maske macht das Tauchen lernen gleich noch mehr Spass! Auch die Verpflegung darf natürlich beim Tauchen nie zu kurz kommen. Direkt neben der Tauchschule befindet sich das Restaurant Tipsy Turtle, wo wir gemeinsam zu Mittag essen können, um gestärkt in den Nachmittag zu starten. Bei unserem "GOLD PACKAGE" profitierst du nicht nur von 10% beim Kauf einer eigenen Maske sondern auch das Mittagessen ist inklusive!

Möchtest du deine eigenen Tauchdaten immer im Blick haben und dir daher einen eigenen Tauchcomputer zulegen wollen, ist das "PLATINUM PACKAGE" das richtige für dich. der Aqualung i300c ist ein einfach zu bedienender Tauchcomputer der dir alle Informationen liefert, die du benötigst! Zusätzlich schenken wir dir hier noch einen weiteren kostenlosen Tauchgang!

SILVER PACKAGE

€450.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined Water

  • 4 Open Water Dives

  • Registrierung

GOLD PACKAGE

€490.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined Water

  • 4 Open Water Dives

  • Registrierung

  • Mittagessen im Tipsy Turtle (3x)

  • 10% Rabatt beim Kauf einer Tauchermaske

PLATINUM PACKAGE

€699.00

  • eLearning

  • Confined Water

  • 4 Open Water Dives

  • Registrierung

  • Mittagessen im Tipsy Turtle (3x)

  • 20% Rabatt beim Kauf einer Tauchermaske

  • 1 Aqualung i300c Tauchcomputer

  • 1 gratis Tauchgang

Weitere Informationen

 

Unsere Kurse bieten wir auf Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch an. Wir legen dabei viel Wert darauf, dass du dich wohl fühlst. Denn wir wissen, es ist ein grosser Schritt. Daher halten wir unsere Gruppen stets so klein wie möglich, damit wir uns für jeden einzelnen Tauchschüler genug Zeit nehmen können. 

Wie gelange ich zu euch?

Bei uns ist der Transport von eurem Hotel in der Region Pernera, Protaras und Agia Napa inbegriffen. Wir werden dich direkt an der Rezeption oder Ferienwohnung abholen kommen und bringen dich natürlich auch wieder zurück. Natürlich darfst du auch gerne selber anreisen.

Was lerne ich in der Theorie und gibt es eine Prüfung?

In der Theorie lernst du etwas über das Element Wasser, die Ausrüstung und allgemeine Theorie über das Tauchen. Um dein Wissen zu überprüfen, werden wir jedes Thema mit einem kleinen Quiz abschliessen. Ganz zum Schluss gibt es noch eine Theorieprüfung. 

Doch davor musst du jedoch keine Angst haben :-) Die Theorie ist wirklich sehr spannend, nicht sehr kompliziert und wird dir unter Wasser ziemlich hilfreich sein.

Brauche ich eine eigene Ausrüstung?

Nein. Bei diesem Kurs brauchst du keine eigene Ausrüstung. Wir haben alles vor Ort. Solltest du jedoch eine eigene Maske haben, darfst du die gerne mitnehmen. Wir werden in diesem Fall überprüfen, ob es sich dabei um eine Taucher- oder Schnorchelmaske handelt (Ja da gibt es wesentliche Unterschiede). Ansonsten bieten wir dir alles, was du für dein Tauchabenteuer auf Zypern brauchst: ein Top-Equipment, welches regelmässig gewartet wird. Folgende Ausrüstung benötigt man zum Tauchen:

Tauchermaske, Atemregulator, Tarrierungsweste, Nasstauchanzug, Flossen und Füsslinge, Blei und eine mit Luft gefüllte Tauchflasche. 

Wie das alles funktioniert, hast du schon im Theorie-Teil erfahren und wird mit praktischen Übungen vertieft.

Wir empfehlen jedoch jedem Taucher, mindestens eine eigene Maske zu haben. Wir beraten dich sehr gerne bei uns im Shop.

Wie tief darf ich als PADI Open Water Diver tauchen?
Nach deiner Ausbildung zum PADI Open Water Diver darfst du zusammen mit einem Buddy auf maximal 18 Meter Tiefe tauchen. Als PADI Scuba Diver darfst du zusammen mit einem Tauchlehrer oder Tauchführer maximal zwölf Meter tief tauchen.

 

Tauchen wir vom Boot oder vom Ufer?

Wir haben das grosse Glück hier auf Zypern, das wir tolle Tauchplätze direkt am Ufer haben. Zu der bekanntesten Divesite gehört die Green Bay in Protaras, welche nur wenige Minuten von uns entfernt ist. Hier haben wir einen natürlichen Pool ohne Wellen und Strömungen mit Stehwassertiefe. Dort können wir perfekt unsere Übungen machen und gemütlich vom Ufer aus langsam abtauchen. So kannst du dich ganz langsam ans Atmen unter Wasser gewöhnen. Wir müssen also nicht von einem Boot ins tiefe Blau springen und uns dann absinken lassen.

Wieso brauche ich eigentlich eine Tauchlizenz?

Grundsätzlich kannst du auch ohne Lizenz tauchen. Hier handelt es sich um ein sogenanntes Schnuppertauchen, welches du beliebig oft machen kannst. Jedoch hat Schnuppertauchen einige Einschränkungen und Nachteile. Grundsätzlich ist das Schnuppertauchen dafür da, um dir die Möglichkeit zu bieten, das Tauchen auszuprobieren, ohne dass du direkt mit einem Kurs starten musst. Beim Schnuppertauchen bekommst du jedesmal eine Theoretische Einführung, musst gewisse Übungen abschliessen und mit einem Tauchlehrer oder DSD Leader tauchen gehen. Dies bedeutet auch, dass Schnuppertauchen einen grösseren Aufwand für die Tauchschule ist und somit oft teurer als Tauchen ist. Ein weiterer grosser Nachteil: Du kannst dabei auf maximal 12 Meter Tiefe gehen; oft reicht dies nicht für die wirklich tollen Tauchplätze. Schon deshalb lohnt sich die Ausbildung zum PADI Open Water Diver auf jeden Fall. So kannst du mit einem Diveguide oder auch anderen Tauchern, die eine Tauchausbildung haben, selbstständig tauchen gehen.

Soll ich direkt nach meiner Tauchausbildung alleine mit einem Freund tauchen gehen?

Dies ist natürlich abhängig von der Erfahrung deines "Buddys". Rein theoretisch bist du als PADI Open Water Diver lizenziert, um alleine mit einem Buddy tauchen zu gehen, der mindestens ebenfalls als Open Water Diver lizenziert ist. Wir raten dir aber ganz klar davon ab. Schaue immer, dass dein Budy mindestens PADI Rescue Diver ist oder bereits einige Tauchgänge im Logbuch hat.

 

Beginne deine PADI Tauchausbildung online

 

Mit dem PADI eLearning® System kannst du gleich mit dem theoretischen Kursteil beginnen und in deinem eigenen Tempo arbeiten. Diese bequeme, interaktive Lernoption ermöglicht dir jederzeit und überall zu lernen, wo du eine Internetverbindung hast.
Mit PADI eLearning kannst du:

  • durch Anschauen, Zuhören, Lesen und Interaktion mit einem dynamischen Lernprogramm lernen;

  • ein ganzes Jahr auf das Material zugreifen, wobei du einen unbegrenztem Zugriff auf eine Onlineversion des jeweiligen Manuals (Buches) eines Kurses hast;

  • dich jederzeit bei Fragen zu den Lerninhalten an deinen persönlichen PADI Tauchlehrer wenden;

  • zeitnah in die Unterwasserwelt eintauchen und dort anwenden, was du gelernt hast – sobald du dich mit deinem PADI Instructor hierfür triffst.

 

Nach Abschluss deines eLearning Programms hast du die Theorie bereits hinter dir und kannst nun bei jedem beliebigen PADI Divecenter deine Ausbildung zum Open Water Diver abschliessen. Da du die Theorie bereits abgeschlossen hast, wird dir die Tauchschule diese auch nicht mehr berechnen. Dabei können die Preise je nach Tauchschule variieren.

 

Du hast nur 2 Tage Zeit?

Du bist noch unter 15 Jahren?

PADI Scuba Diver

Beim PADI Scuba Diver handelt es sich um den ersten Teil der PADI OPEN WATER DIVER-Ausbildung. Dies ermöglicht es dir, zunächst in Begleitung eines professionellen Tauchers auf eine Maximaltiefe von 12 Metern zu tauchen.

Zudem hast du damit bereits den ersten Teil deines PADI OPEN WATER DIVER-Kurses abgeschlossen und kannst so in jeder PADI-Tauchschule noch die zweite Hälfte absolvieren.

Unseren Erfahrungen nach ist diese Ausbildung ideal, um bei einem nur geringen Zeitaufwand als Taucher zu starten.

PADI Junior Open Water Diver

Wenn du zwischen 10 und 15 Jahre alt bist, erhältst du die PADI JUNIOR OPEN WATER DIVER-Lizenz.

 

Du hast grundsätzlich genau die gleiche Ausbildung wie beim PADI OPEN WATER DIVER, jedoch in einer maximalen Tiefe von 12 Metern. Die JUNIOR OPEN WATER-Lizenz wird automatisch mit Erreichen deines 15. Lebensjahres zur PADI OPEN WATER DIVER-Lizenz umgewandelt.

Informationen

Öffnungszeiten

Saison (1. April - 31. Oktober)

Montag - Samstag  09.00 - 21.00​

Nebensaison

Auf Voranmeldung

Schnellnavigator

Kontakt

Cyprus Diving Centre

13 Aphrodite Street

5296 Pernera

+357 99 399 404 (Whatsapp)

info@cyprus-divingcentre.com