beach_clean_up.JPG

because we only have one sea
marine protection

Our commitment to the sea

 

Since the beginning of 2020 we have observed a sharp increase in sea turtle sightings in Cyprus, around the holiday region of Ayia Napa and Protaras. Green sea turtles and loggerhead turtles have several nesting sites on the island. In the tourist areas, however, the turtles are exposed to many dangers. Unfortunately we also had to make a sad discovery on one of our dives; a dead sea turtle entangled in fishing lines. For this reason, we want to actively do something to protect it.

Ocean Support Kistler

We founded the company Ocean Support Kistler for this purpose. Our goal is to protect and preserve the Mediterranean Sea around Cyprus. We see the greatest need in the area of protecting sea creatures. For this reason we dedicate our first project to sea turtles.

Project Xenios

We want to make the sea turtle feeding grounds around Cyprus safer.

We work with the following 3 pillars:

​​

Pfeiler1.png
ghost nets and marine debris

In April 2022 we would like to start removing ghost nets and marine debris so that no living creatures can get caught in them.

Pfeiler2.png
Turtle Database
 

We are creating a database about the local turtles to analyze and understand the impact of tourism.

Pfeiler3.png
educational work
 

People often do not behave correctly when handling sea turtles. We enlighten people directly on site.

Financing

The project is partly financed via the online shop. The goal is to be able to cover all administrative and personnel costs with the income. This allows us to invest 100% of tips and support money into the project and not just a small part of it. Thus, every order actively contributes to the protection of sea turtles in Cyprus.

beach_clean_up.JPG

denn wir haben nur ein Meer
Meeresschutz

Unser Einsatz fürs Meer

 

Seit Anfang des Jahres 2020 konnten wir auf Zypern, rund um die Ferienregion Ayia Napa und Protaras einen starken Anstieg von Meeresschildkröten-Sichtungen beobachten. Die Grünen Meeresschildkröten und die Unechten Karettschildkröten haben mehrere Nistplätze auf der Insel. In den Touristengebieten sind die Schildkröten allerdings vielen Gefahren ausgesetzt. Leider mussten auch wir schon eine traurige Entdeckung auf einer unserer Tauchgänge machen; eine tote Meeresschildkröte in Angelleinen verwickelt. Aus diesem Grund wollen wir aktiv etwas für den Schutz unternehmen.

Ocean Support Kistler

Dazu haben wir das Unternehmen Ocean Support Kistler gegründet. Unser Ziel ist es, das Mittelmeer um Zypern zu schützen und erhalten. Den grössten Bedarf sehen wir da im Bereich Schutz der Meeresbewohner. Aus diesem Grund widmen wir unser erstes Projekt den Meeresschildkröten.

Projekt Xenios

Wir wollen erreichen, dass die Fressplätze der Meeresschildkröten um Zypern sicherer werden.

Dazu arbeiten wir mit folgenden 3 Pfeiler:

Pfeiler1.png
Ghost-Nets und Meeresmüll

Im April 2022 möchten wir mit dem entfernen von Geisternetzen und Meeresmüll starten, damit sich keine Lebewesen mehr darin verfangen können.

Pfeiler2.png
Schildkröten Datenbank
 

Wir erstellen eine Datenbank über die lokalen Schildkröten, um den Einfluss des Tourismus zu analysieren und zu verstehen.

Pfeiler3.png
Aufklärungsarbeit
 

Oft verhalten sich Menschen beim Umgang mit Meeresschildkröten nicht korrekt. Wir klären Menschen direkt vor Ort auf.

Finanzierung

Finanziert wird das Projekt zum Teil über den Online Shop. Das Ziel ist es, mit den Einnahmen alle Administrativen und Personellen Kosten decken zu können. Dadurch können wir Trinkgelder und Unterstützungsgelder zu 100% ins Projekt investieren und nicht nur einen kleinen Teil davon. Somit trägt jede Bestellung aktiv zum Schutz der Meeresschildkröten auf Zypern bei.