Wreck diving in Cyprus in ideal conditions

An overview of our wrecks

 

Cyprus has some interesting wrecks to offer

Cyprus is known for the world-famous wreck, Zenobia. But besides the Zenobia, Cyprus offers many other wrecks that are easy to dive.

There are also two smaller wrecks right in front of our diving school, which are ideal for training as a PADI Wreck Diver. In addition, the wrecks are located in a protected zone and we have been able to observe how many fish are slowly coming back for several years.

Zenobia_04.jpg

The world-famous Zenobia is one of the top 5 wrecks in the world. The Zenobia was a Swedish RoRo ferry that was built in 1979 in the Kockums shipyard in Malmö and delivered to the AB Nordö shipping company. As the flagship of the so-called “Challenger” class, it was to serve the ferry traffic between Koper (today's Slovenia) via Volos (Greece) to Tartous (Syria). Her maiden voyage started on May 4, 1980, from Sweden, on May 22, 1980, Zenobia crossed the Strait of Gibraltar and entered the Mediterranean. On June 2, 1980, the Zenobia was loaded with more than 100 trucks on the way to Syria when an increasing list on the port side was found.

depth
length
width
Sunk on
reason

18m - 42m

172 Meter

28 Meter

7 June 1980

Official: Defect in the automatic ballast tank system
Unofficial: You can find out from us :-)

Nemesis_03.jpg

NEMESIS Wrack

The nemesis was the second wreck to be sunk in the Protaras and Ayia Napa areas. Right next to the Golden Coast Hotel and the fishing port and in front of the Atlantica Sea Breeze.

The wreck sank in December 2013 in front of a large excited crowd that had gathered to watch the ship go under, even the television teams were there to watch the spectacle.

The wreck was deliberately sunk so that it lies upright on the ocean floor. Before the wreck found its final resting place on the bottom of the Mediterranean Sea, holes were cut in the wreck. The engine was also left inside and offers some great opportunities to dive through.

depth
length
width
Sunk on
reason

24 Meter

25 Meter

6 Meter

December 2013

Intentionally as an artificial reef

Liberty_03.jpg

Liberty Wrack

The Liberty is a small Russian cargo ship.

The Liberty wreck is located in the artificial reef zone of the Protaras area. This area is also closed to shipping, making it an ecological marine fish reserve for Protaras in an area ideally suited to the prosperity of marine life.

depth
length
width
Sunk on
reason

27 Meter

37 Meter

10 Meter

May 2009

Intentionally as an artificial reef

03.3_aowd_course.jpg

Explore the Zenobia

Get to know more about one of the most famours wrecks in the world 

... and discover it with us on a Fun Dive.

Ideale Bedingungen für:

Wracktauchen auf Zypern 

Unsere Wracks im Überblick

Zypern ist bekannt für das Weltbekannte Wrack Zenobia. Doch neben der Zenobia bietet Zypern noch viele andere Wracks die einfach und gut zu betauchen sind.

Auch direkt vor unserer Tauchschule liegen zwei kleinere Wracks welche sich ideal für die Ausbildung zum PADI Wreck Diver eignen. Zudem liegen die Wracks in einer geschützten Zone und wir können schon seit einigen Jahren beobachten, wie viele Fische langsam zurück kommen.

Zenobia_04.jpg

MS Zenobia Wrack

Die Weltbekannte Zenobia ist eines der Top 5 Wracks der Welt. Die Zenobia war eine schwedische RoRo-Fähre, die 1979 in der Kockums-Werft in Malmö gebaut und an die Reederei AB Nordö ausgeliefert wurde. Als Flaggschiff der sogenannten „Challenger“-Klasse sollte sie den Fährverkehr zwischen Koper (heutiges Slowenien) über Volos (Griechenland) nach Tartous (Syrien) bedienen. Ihre Jungfernfahrt startete am 4. Mai 1980 von Schweden aus, am 22. Mai 1980 passierte die Zenobia die Meerenge von Gibraltar und fuhr in das Mittelmeer ein. Am 2. Juni 1980 befand sich die Zenobia beladen mit mehr als 100 Lkw auf dem Weg nach Syrien, als eine zunehmende Schlagseite nach Backbord festgestellt wurde.

Tiefe
Länge
Breite
Gesunken am
Grund

18m - 42m

172 Meter

28 Meter

7 Juni 1980

Offiziell: Defekt im automatischen Ballasttanksystem
Inoffiziell: Erfährst du bei uns :-)

Nemesis_03.jpg

NEMESIS Wrack

Die Nemesis war das zweite Wrack, das in den Gebieten Protaras und Ayia Napa versenkt wurde. Direkt neben dem Golden Coast Hotel und dem Fischerhafen und vor der Atlantica Sea Breeze.

Das Wrack sank im Dezember 2013 vor einer großen aufgeregten Menschenmenge, die sich versammelt hatte, um das Schiff untergehen zu sehen, selbst die Fernsehteams waren dort, um dieses Spektakel zu verfolgen.

Das Wrack wurde absichtlich versenkt, sodass es aufrecht auf dem Meeresboden liegt. Bevor das Wrack seine letzte Ruhestätte am Grund des Mittelmeeres fand, wurden Löcher in das Wrack geschnitten. Ebenfalls wurde der Motor drinnen gelassen und bietet einige tolle Möglichkeiten um durch zu tauchen.

Tiefe
Länge
Breite
Gesunken am
Grund

24 Meter

25 Meter

6 Meter

Dezember 2013

Absichtlich als künstliches Riff

Liberty_03.jpg

Liberty Wrack

Die Liberty ist ein kleines russisches Frachtschiff.

Das Liberty-Wrack befindet sich in der künstlichen Riffzone des Protaras-Gebiets. Dieses Gebiet wird auch für den Schiffsverkehr gesperrt, was es zu einem ökologischen Meeresfischreservat für Protaras in einem Gebiet macht, das sich ideal für das Gedeihen von Meereslebewesen eignet.

Tiefe
Länge
Breite
Gesunken am
Grund

27 Meter

37 Meter

10 Meter

Mai 2009

Absichtlich als künstliches Riff